The electorate of La Trobe was first proclaimed in 1949 and named after the first Lieutenant-Governor of Victoria (1851–1854), Charles La Trobe (1801–1875).

The Federal Electorate of La Trobe is home to some of Victoria’s most iconic tourist landmarks in Melbourne’s outer metropolitan area.

Jason Wood MP was elected to represent the electorate of La Trobe in 2004, 2007, 2013, 2016 and 2019. 

Previous member to represent the seat of La Trobe include:

  • Wood, J (LP) 2019 - Present 
  • Wood, J (LP) 2016 - 2019 
  • Wood, J (LP) 2013 - 2016 
  • Smyth, L (ALP) 2010–2013
  • Wood, J (LP) 2004–2010
  • Charles, B (LP) 1990–2004
  • Milton, P (ALP) 1980–1990
  • Baillieu, M (LP) 1975–1980
  • Lamb, A H (ALP) 1972–1975
  • Jess, J D (LP) 1960–1972
  • Casey, R G (LP) 1949–1960

The La Trobe electorate covers approximately 748 sq. km of the outer eastern and south-eastern suburbs and is home to over 110,000 people.

The Division of La Trobe consists of

  • part of the Cardinia Shire Council,
  • part of the Casey City Council,

Suburbs in the Federal Electorate of La Trobe

Avonsleigh, Beaconsfield, Beaconsfield Upper, Berwick, Cardinia, Clematis, Clyde, Clyde North, Cockatoo, Dewhurst, Emerald, Gembrook, Guys Hill, Harkaway, Koo Wee Rup, Mount Burnett, Nangana, Nar Nar Goon, Narre Warren, Narre Warren East, Narre Warren North, Narre Warren South, Officer, Officer South, Pakenham and Pakenham Upper.

Open PDF of electorate map